Pat Hogan Bursary

This award is presented annually by the OCOA to a third-year student of the Natural Resources Law Enforcement program at Sir Sandford Fleming College in Lindsay, Ontario. This institution has been one of the the main training grounds for Ontario Conservation Officers and other natural resources professionals for many years. Award recipients are listed below.

2017 Pat Hogan Bursary Recipient Jimmy Shrubsall

Dan VanExan (left) OCOA Member (Past President)  presents award to Jimmy Shrubsall, April, 2017

Criteria for the award is as follows: “Awarded to the student who inspires and encourages classmates, equally and to the best of their ability, while displaying a professional approach to studies in the Natural Resources Law Enforcement program”.

The “Hogan Award” is named in houour of retired Conservation Officer Pat Hogan. Throughout his career Pat demonstrated the qualities of leadership and integrity, and was always there for his fellow officers. He never lost sight of this while he was a field Conservation Officer, CO Co-ordinator, Regional Enforcement Specialist, and Provincial Trainer. Even in “retirement” Pat continued his work to the benefit of Ontario’s people and resources, as the Co-ordinator for the Ontario Hunter Education Program at the Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters.

We congratulate the following recipients of the OCOA’s “Hogan Award”:

Victoria Edwards 2016
Matthew Cornfield 2015
Stephen Soepboer 2014
David Griffin 2013
Tyler Grant – 2012
Jon Neely – 2011
Aaron Gervais – 2010
Mark Callan – 2009
Sherri Green – 2008
Charles Bain – 2007
Ben Sumner – 2006
Brady Stevenson – 2005
Jonathan Bradfield – 2004
Randy Tippin – 2003
Derrick Laplante – 2002
Patricia MacDonald – 2001
Michael Benedict – 2000
Nicole Butler – 1999
Andrew Hamson – 1998
Robert Brown – 1997
Kevin Considine – 1996
Pierre Descoteaux & Nelson Melling – 1995

The recipient is awarded a $300 bursary, along with a personal engraved plaque. A main plaque is also displayed at the College, and an engraved plate marks each year’s recipient.

Recipients are selected by ballot by his/her classmates at the end of December each year. The bursary is given to the recipient at the commencement of classes in January. Plaques are presented at the college Awards banquet in April.

Please contact for additions or corrections.