Kevin Barber & Team

2001 Amethyst Award

Bruce Peninsula Fisheries Negotiation Team

Kevin Barber, John Cooper, Ron Desjardine, Warren Dunlop, Mary Gordon,Claire Hogenkamp, David Loftus, Andrew Macdonald, David MacDonald, Sylvia Mannonen, David McLeish, Marilyn McMann, Lloyd Mohr, Elaine Philp, Marilyn Roberts

Ministry of Natural Resources

Public service involves challenges. This MNR Team successfully settled a difficult, 12-year-old dispute about commercial fishing, conservation and Aboriginal rights that involved two First Nations groups on the Bruce Peninsula and the federal and provincial governments.

The Amethyst Award presented to Ontario Public Servants was established in 1993 and designed to recognize outstanding achievements by people, not programs, in the Ontario Public Service (OPS). These are people who have extended themselves, whether in creating a whole new way of delivering a service, developing time and money-saving technology, or showing extraordinary professionalism and care in performing their daily tasks.

The award is a lucite trophy featuring Ontario amethyst and bearing the award logo. Recipients are also presented with certificates (signed by the Secretary of Cabinet and the Premier) and a lapel pin.